Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42

    Day 42: St. Wolfgang, Austria

    August 1, 2017 in Austria ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Today, our plan was to take the earliest bus to St. Gilgen and grab the ferry to St. Wolfgang to then hike up Scafbergbahn (1,783 meters). People told us it would take us three hours and then we'd go swimming in the lakes for a bit before heading back for our 7:30 Marionette show of The Sound of Music. It didn't quite go as planned.

    We grabbed the earliest bus (with our new friend Anna from Sweden) and got to start hiking at 10 am. This hike was the more difficult hike I've ever done. At 1:30, we got to the first train station and Zoe decided to take the train back down. I didn't want to quit so Anna and I kept going to the top and we finally made it at around 3 o'clock.

    Took us five hours, but the view was incredible and I was so happy when I made it. Anna and I ate our lunches, walked around and took in the view from every angle. When we went to go get train tickets to get back down, the next available one was at 4:25. No time for swimming. :(

    Zoe ended up heading back early so she could shower before the show. Anna and I had to make every next transport on time or I wouldn't make it back to the show. We ended up having 5 minutes to run to the ferry and then 15 minutes to run through the town of St. Gilgen to grab the bus. I originally wanted to take a quick shower myself, but there was no time and I took the bus straight to the show, getting there just on time to freshen up quick and meet Zoe.

    Needless to say it was right down to the wire in terms of me making it on time, but I'm always last minute so nothing new there! The show was actually really cool and it was a fun way to see the Sound of Music for the first time!

    We then grabbed McDonalds and "walked" back. Zoe took us the longest way possible so I actually hailed a taxi with 1 km left because the 25 minute walk was already at 45 minutes and I was exhausted and so excited for a shower. That shower turned out to be the best one ever.
    Read more