Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Day 41: Salzburg, Austria

    July 31, 2017 in Austria ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Today consisted of food shopping, visiting the Mirabell Gardens and the House of Nature/Science Museum, seeing the house where Mozart was born, walking around the city and then taking a "short cut" which turned into a pretty steep hike with really nice views.

    As we were walking through town, I saw cute postcards with Dutch writing so I asked this guy to translate a few (turned into all of them) and he spent a good thirty minutes explaining them all. Turns out a lot of them are funny in Dutch, but it doesn't translate well in English.

    Our "short cut" through the park ended up being a really steep 3-4 km hike, but we ended up having really nice views. I thought I stepped in poison ivy by accident so I showered right away when we got back while having a slight heart attack, but then I googled it and it turned out it wasn't poison ivy... so all is good. :)

    We also met all 8 of our new roommates tonight. They are all super nice. Two are from Brazil, three from Minnesota, one from Sweden and Zoe met the last girl, but I didn't so I'll have to get back to that one.

    For supper, I ended up making chilli for the first time and it didn't turn out so bad! I consider it a success and we will for sure make more before our trip is over. #proud
    Read more