Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 200

    Belgrade

    October 20, 2017 in Serbia β‹… β›… 24 Β°C

    Got up and packed then waited for our shuttle bus.

    A HAPPY 5 YEAR ANNIVERSARY TO US πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

    I have really enjoyed Turkey.
    I have felt safe the entire time. Istanbul, not Turkey, is currently orange on trip advisor which is the second highest alert.
    Potential danger at every turn but I haven't felt threatened by the people. In Morocco some people really set off warning bells and individuals in other countries too. Not Turkey. I have felt very relaxed and welcomed. They get very excited when we are Australian and despite some people with obvious woman issues I have been treated with respect which I wasn't expecting. I enjoy answering for Will way to much. When a man ignores me and will only talk to Will I always butt in πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ like hey I'm boss hahahaha

    Turkey also is quite pretty.
    Even though everyone tells me it's a non denomination county, not a Muslim country (bull, it 100% is) people have not had judgement in their eyes towards foreigners.
    A really nice place and I would come back.
    I find the Ottoman Empire interesting and we didn't really touch on it.

    Our shuttle took 1.5 hours to reach the airport and it was so bumpy we both felt sick. We had to scan all bags before entering the airport and then Rush rush into McDonalds
    😝
    Hooley Dooley we got some American sized meals. They were ridiculous. They don't put ice in the Coke though which was shit.

    We waited for our checkin to open then went and dumped our bags.
    Through more customs - a blue stamp this time woo!
    I even saw a lady lift her burka to the man customs officer. A first.

    Another bag check and we were through!
    We already had a gate number so we went there but a plane to Saudi Arabia was yet to board and we got the strangest looks πŸ˜‚ definitely didn't fit in with that crowd.

    We waited the 1.5 hours and have now hopped on the plane and didn't die during take off πŸ’ͺ🏻
    We should land in an hour. Will is greatly uncomfortable because he doesn't fit and I am very very hot and want a drink. I went to buy one at the Airport but flat out refused because I bought water yesterday for 1 lira - the airport was charging 17. Get stuffed.

    Landed - as we exited we had to show our passports. Being Australian we got let straight through but half the plane had their passports confiscated and all went on an excursion through the airport for further questioning. Hahaha
    Turkish people were let through - it was the Saudi Arabians and others that were stopped.

    The customs lady was really nice but laughed at my picture " it Looks like your brother, sorry"
    Heh πŸ˜’
    Why do customs insist on using the same page to stamp? I'm trying to fill the book, pick a new page!! Lol

    We got picked up at the airport - my Angharad sign was easy to spot.
    I love the stress it takes off.
    Dude drove us to our apartment. He gave us suggestions on the way of things of to eat and drink.
    There was lots of traffic so it took a while to arrive.
    I organised a private driver through our Bnb for 15€
    A taxi would have cost the same but this saved the whole finding the address debacle we so often experience .

    The house is nice. Cosy feel.

    We went out for food and it was so cheap :)
    I finally had another shopska salad πŸ˜­πŸ˜­πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌYAYAYAY

    Only issue was I accidentally ate a pepper because I thought it was capsicum. MOUTH ON fire πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯

    We went to the supermarket and bought staples.
    I found Mi goreng ** so I'm keen to try their version.

    I left my phone cord in turkey so my phone won't make it through the night :(

    We Skyped Jess and Jaxon. She is auditioning with Aunty Anne (Petes Aunty) for the family feud today LOL.
    Read more