Satellitt
Vis på kartet
  • Dag 9

    7.Contextual Factor #1

    17. mai 2023, Hellas ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    One contextual factor that helped me understand Greece more was the history. When we went on the church tour and Sandy was showing us each one she kept pointing out that each temple had a piece of history in it as well. After she pointed it out I started to notice it. Not only did I notice it I questioned it. They took pieces from temples and brought them to these churches to add them to the build. Did it hold any significance or were they just running out of stone? Sandy had said it was common to find pieces like that throughout other structures. I wondered what happened to those temples and why not rebuild them. Most Greeks can tell you their history better than some of us know our US history and it’s engrained in their culture. It makes you appreciate the beauty of what’s in front of you and what it used to be. I envy them when it comes to restoring or protecting historic sites and I feel like that’s something the US lacks. While we haven’t been around as long as Greece they’ve managed to maintain their sites more than we have and make it a priority. In the US sometimes it comes down to who’s offering more money and that doesn’t appear to be the Greek way of thinking. I loved seeing how much pride the people in Athens and in Aegina had in being from Greece. Made me wish I was from Greece.Les mer