Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Fonfria

    September 2, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 48 °F

    Didn’t sleep much last night, though it was more quiet than the night before. I left the Casa Carolo a little before 8, and it was very overcast. The hotel was ok, very basic, except the food, that was below average, so I left the hotel without breakfast, hoping to get coffee a few miles down the path.
    8:30 getting to a coffee place, but they don’t open until 9, so I keep going. It started raining so I put on my rain gear and just enjoyed the day, eventually getting a coffee and a week old croissant 🥹 - well maybe not quite a week - but the coffee was good, a grande coffee con leche

    I enjoyed the walk down from O Cebrero, and while there are now more pilgrims, I saw a lot more cows than pilgrims.

    So I was just walking, enjoying the light drizzle and the scenery, but eventually realized that I should have seen my hotel by then. Well, yes, the hotel was 3 miles back and I had just walked the last 3 miles all downhill. I had a few choice names for myself on the way back. And tomorrow I’m watching my gps and looking out for the hotel.
    But I’m going to get a ride tomorrow morning down to my last walking point - not walking that stretch a 3rd time 😖

    O Cebrero - it was supposed to be so strenuous but it actually wasn’t. Up wasn’t bad at all and down was supper easy (very up and down) except the last 3 miles where it was all downhill.

    Just walking with a backpack is definitely the way to go, I would have liked to move ahead a bit more.

    The day ended well with a delicious group pilgrim dinner of Galicia soup, rice and meat,
    torte and red wine all for $12. Met some nice people.
    Read more