Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Day 8 Reat Day - Portugalete

    September 29, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Had a great sleep. Woke up early to say goodbye to Bernadette and Anna

    Anja decided to stay an extra night. We went out for a delicious lunch I had Sea Bass !
    Lots of bones so had to be careful.

    I met Anja in Bilbao. She was carrying so much stuff that a homeless person saluted her😅

    She bought a new backpack there and walked 10 km. She Stopped and decided to take the bus. She didn't know how so asked a garbage collector who in turn led her to the warehouse where about 50 men were gathered. No one aspoke English and only one spoke German. He was able to help her👍

    Today I helped her arrange her luggage transfer. She will do less km tomorrow than I.
    We will set out at 7 at the latest It looks like another scorching hot day.

    I must mention this Viscaya hanging bridge thing it transports people and vehicles over the channel in a suspended team for 50 Euros.....or you can pay 8.5 Euros to walk across the top of it!!! I could have taken it but didn't realize what it was. I thought it was just an ugly crane like structure Anja took it and had a blast😅

    There is an alternative route for tomorrow by the water so we will take that . I don't know how it will affect my kms for the day.

    A man in our Albergue got lost just trying to find this place. So many pilgrims go off track The Camino is very poorly marked and there are so many other trails as well. The GR trail is one marked by red and white stripes . It is used all over Europe. At this point I am navigating with a screenshot of a map/ downloaded map from All Trails app Google Maps, and the Wise Pilgrim app. I will be a pro with navigation after this experience for sure😉😅💪
    Read more