Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day 22 Pola to Grandes de Salime 445km

    October 14, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    So i had to wait until the bar opened at 7 so I could have breakfast. Said goodbye to Avril who was going by bus to Santiago and then fly to Southern Spain for some sun.

    The forecast is for rain the next week or so.
    Anyway, I headed out in the dark and rain.....
    I noticed 2 torchlights behind me. It was a couple the woman was from Hungary and the guy from Wales.

    I ended up walking with them the whole way up the mountain and down to the end.

    The fellow was like a mountaingoat. He said he goes on hikes at least once per week.

    So very steady climb....up and up and up. Honestly it was like hiking at the Roger's Pass except no coniferous trees.

    There were beautiful wild Heather and other flowers. Unfortunately you could not see very far because of the low clouds but it was beautiful.

    Apparently, this section is the most difficult on the whole Primitivo.😱

    All of my pictures are on my other phone that refuses to charge🙄 I am not happy about that at all !!!!😞

    I am hoping that it is just due to moisture because of all the rain but I did have it in a plastic bag so I don't know.....
    It was a spectacular mountain hiking day through beautiful forests.....
    And..... I didn't fall !!! ( which was a miracle)

    I will upload the pics if and when I can🤞☘️
    Very happy with my training zones. My pace reflects the difficulty.

    Good news here are the pics😍🥰👍
    Read more