Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Day 30 Lavacolla to Santiago 632 km

    October 22, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    Started my walk into Santiago in the dark using the flashlight on my phone because I lost my second headlamp🥺

    Clear night and the sky was lit with stars. All of the winter star sky😍. It was beautiful....

    I heard an owl either catch something or it was a screech owl? I am unsure....I also heard one hooting. It truly was magical.

    I did go off track..but discovered the error very quickly.

    Marched into Santiago and arrived at the Pilgrims office just when it was opening at 9.

    I was so happy to receive my Compostela 😅👏

    Then I had breakfast. Delicious.

    When I walked back down to the Cathedral at 10 there was an enormous line. I thought it was for the Noon Mass so I stood in line as well. When I got to the front I was told it was the wrong lineup and had to walk to the opposite side of the Cathedral. I was successful in getting in and a great seat

    It was a packed service. The highlight was the Botafumeira.
    Please watch the video on the wiki link....it is so cool.

    https://es.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Botafumeiro

    They obviously do not have smoke detectors in the Cathedral🤣 I wondered about people with asthma🤔 It was so smokey with the strong smell of Frankincense incense. What an experience😁

    Afterwards I met up with Stacey and Denise, Debra and Jennifer.
    I had what was called a warm salad. Spinach, mushrooms onions and carrots topped with buffalo milk mozzarella cheese!!
    Wowsers👍 It was so good🥰

    I then found my Albergue and figured out my next adventure.
    I am taking a rest day tomorrow then walking to the Coast Muxia and then Finisterre.

    I saw John at the Supermercados tonight. He did so well!! But he's very tired....like me. I am in a 4 bunk bed room. Hopefully I will sleep well tonight🤞🍀
    Read more