Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Day 36 Santiago to Porto Portugal

    October 26, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    It was not raining when I walked to the bus depot 😁

    I had my morning cafe con leche and am now waiting for the bus to Porto.

    Very comfortable bus ride. Met a mother /daughter from Bavaria. They had just completed the Porto Camino.

    Got off at the bus depot and saw that my hostel was 2 . 5 km away. I started walking....and saw the train/ Metro station. I found an information booth and was able to ride the subway close to my hostel.

    I wanted to check-in but I didn't realize that Porto is an hour behind Espana so had to wait.

    I decided to eat and ordered a delicious fish dish called Pataniscis with tomato rice.

    I went back to the hostel " So Cool Hostel" only to find it was the wrong one😳 The one I was booked at was called " Cool Hostel". But it was easy to hop on the metro for another couple of stops.

    When I got off I was inundated with all of these people. It was a street that was a mall ( no cars) and it was very crowded.
    There was a street vendor selling castanats which are roasted chesnuts. They roast them on briquets. They tasted like potatoes to me🤔

    I found my hostel got settled then did laundry. The owner was doing laundry and filling Ikea bags....where is there an Ikea here?

    Went to bed early as I was very tired.
    Read more