Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Trabadelo to O Cebreiro 21km

    April 8 in Spain ⋅ 🌫 5 °C

    So started out raining lightly. I brought an old raincoat that I used previously on the West Coast Trail.....well....it wasn't as water proof as I thought🥴

    Anyway, I felt good and things were great until the light rain became a Classic Galicia Downpour!!!! Luckily there was a bar that was open after walking in it for an hour.

    My 3 German friends stopped there as well. We decided as a group to press on to the next village 5 km away.

    It was so muddy and impossible to keep ones feet dry🥴

    When we reached the next Village it stopped raining and the sun even came out. Christian said she wanted to keep walking with me as our paces were similar.

    We headed out after eating ( tortilla & cafe con leche) and this is where things started to fall apart.....

    It started to rain and the trail was extremely muddy and getting steeper and steeper. We knew of we held on that La faba was 7 km away and there was an albergue there.

    We arrived there and it was just pouring!!!! I was soaking wet ( should have brought my Camino rain gear 🥶) and we found out the Albergue didn't open until 2 pm.....it was 12 noon.
    There was nothing open in this town.....so....we decided to keep walking.

    Up and up and up....the rain turned into sleet......then into snow.....but we kept trudging along. We didn't have a choice to stop anyway. I did briefly to snap a few pics but honestly the low cloud hang obliterated the magnificent view!!

    This is the highest altitude on the whole Camino.

    We finally reached our Albergue at 2 pm. Shortly after arriving it started to snow even heavier. I saw a big snowplow that had been on the highway I think?

    No stores were open so I settled on an Empanada.

    We were able to dry our clothes but my boots are not really dry. I hope tomorrow they will be better.

    The Albergue has 18 pilgrims or so.....It is toasty warm which is wonderful There are over 60 beds in one enormous room.

    This has been quite the day!!
    But shoutout to Merino wool and my Injinji socks!!!!! No blisters and I kept my core temp warm even though I was drenched.
    Read more