Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Perth to Bayonne

    October 4, 2019 in France ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    After a long 30 hours of flights (Perth-Doha-Paris-Biarritz), I've finally made it to the stage of my journey where I can slow down and adjust to my new surroundings.

    I spent last night at the Hôtel Côte Basque in Bayonne, a nice comfortable little hotel directly across the road from the Gare de Bayonne, where I'll take the train later today to St-Jean Pied-de-Port, where my Camino will start.

    From my table by the window, I have a clear view of the Rue Maubec, and have already seen a number of people carrying backpacks and walking poles in the direction of Gare de Bayonne, who I presume are also making their way to St-Jean. It has me thinking of the variety of personalities I am likely to meet over the next few weeks.

    The hotel breakfast was just what I needed, and I feel rejuvenated and looking forward to a few hours of enjoying the sights of Bayonne. The coffee is quite strong, so taking my chances with a second cup.

    The morning talkback radio is playing in the background, and even though I don't understand a word of it, I find it calming, helping me to appreciate where I am and of the journey ahead of me.
    Read more