Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Mañeru to Villamayor de Monjardín

    October 9, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    A pre-dawn departure from Mañeru came with a light breeze that tempered the relatively warm morning, which resulted from a broad blanket of cloud cover. Sampling grapes from a vineyard left the mouth watering, with the lights of Cirauqui seen in the distance.

    The next couple of hours provided a number of interesting sights, such as a partially restored Roman bridge, a rustic rest area for weary pilgrims in the middle of nowhere, and hills covered in vineyards.

    A welcome breakfast was enjoyed in a little cafe in Lorca. Fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee and a bocadillo hit the spot, knowing that there was still close to 20km still to be walked for the day.

    I had thought that doing the Camino would provide the opportunity to practice my Spanish. However, my walking partners have mostly been delightful Germans, taking me back to my German classes in high school. It occurs to me that despite their relatively good grasp of the English language, in order for them to include me in conversation, it takes a concerted effort to translate their thoughts in German to English.

    The Irache monastery 'Fuente de Vino' is onto a good idea, with a fountain that pilgrims can use to avail themselves of a free sample of red wine. Great idea, though not likely to find one in Australia.

    The last stretch of the day through Azqueta, towards Villamayor de Monjardín was a treat for the senses, with mountains in the distance, vineyards a plenty, olive groves, and farm houses dotted throughout. While on the final approach to Villamayor de Monjardín, under a warm sunny sky, I felt a cool breeze wash across me, which I gratefully soaked up after 25km of walking.

    While writing this entry, I can smell the dinner that the hosts of our albergue are preparing. If it tastes anywhere near as good as it smells, I'm in for a treat.

    Steps: 39,550
    Distance: 26.1km
    Total Distance walked from St-Jean: 123.7km
    Read more