Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Fuente Sidres to Castrojeriz

    May 14, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    It’s amazing what a good night’s sleep can do. Everyone in the albergue stayed in bed until seven am. I obviously wasn’t the only one who found yesterday hard. Had a leisurely breakfast in the garden before the fairly easy day. Some of my bunkmates helped me fix the blisters on my left foot and it helped a lot.

    Just before the first town of Hontanas as I gazed at everything around me I twisted my right foot and fell down with my full pack on. Luckily a couple were right behind me and were able to help me back up. My foot felt sore but not too bad and I was able to continue on. I arrived at the ruins at San Anton while a tourist bus of ‘Road Scholars’ were there. It was good not to feel envious of the luxury travel and was pleased with the way I was seeing things.

    I called into the first church in Castrojeriz and they had a very interesting display of wooden carvings from the 14th century. After leaving the church my foot became very painful and by the time I checked into the albergue I could barely put any weight on it. I hobbled down to the pharmacy and was given a compression bandage and ibuprofen. I am now icing and elevating it and hoping it will be better by the morning. The ankle seems fine, it is just swollen across the top of my foot. The pharmacist doesn’t think it is broken.

    We had a great communal dinner tonight and met some new people and caught up with some familiar faces. My foot is still very sore and I may need to catch a taxi tomorrow to Fromista and visit the medical centre (which hopefully will be open as it will be Sunday). But maybe the visit to the church will allow a miracle to happen and I will be healed!

    Albergue Rosalia
    13kms
    Read more