Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Sarria to Portomarin

    May 31, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 18 °C

    I had an early start with the sun just rising again. The first hour was hard while my body woke up and I argued with myself whether I could do this or not. But then things got easier and I began to enjoy it.

    I think some of it may have been the large and noisy groups (even at 6am) racing past me. There are so many who began their Camino today and I felt old and slow and dusty beside them. But they did slow down as the kilometres added up and their feet began to hurt like the rest of us.

    I had a delicious pizza for lunch when I arrived and I’ve got another private room which is bright and airy.

    Unfortunately I’ve developed a reaction to the strapping tape and my calves are a bit of a mess. But luckily I met up with Nicole the physio from Brisbane this evening and she had a few ideas for me to try.

    It’s raining now and the forecast for the next few days is rain. Hopefully they are wrong but we are in Galicia now so it is to be expected I guess.

    Albergue-Pensión Manuel
    23kms
    Read more