Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42

    Portomarin to Palas de Rei

    June 1, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 15 °C

    I had another early start but it was very foggy so there was no beautiful sunrise. It was quite a climb for the first few hours but it was still so foggy that you couldn’t see what you were climbing or where you’d come from.

    After about 5kms we reached the top of a hill and there was a van and some tables set up with fruit, juice and coffee. But unfortunately it wasn’t a donativo, it was the breakfast for the large tour group that had been walking alongside me. Very disappointing! Fortunately there was a real breakfast stop around 7 kms and I sat out in the sunshine with my bacon and eggs, fresh orange juice and coffee.

    Soon after the fog lifted but the sky began to darken. And then it poured. And it poured. And it poured. The first rain I have had on the whole Camino.

    Palas de Rei isn’t as vibrant as the last few stays. I had an big lunch and some ice cream for dinner and then an early night.

    Albergue Mesón de Benito
    20kms
    Read more