Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 184

    Bogota

    May 24, 2023 in Colombia

    Bogota. Leaving the capital until last. Of course I'm very familiar with its airport since I accidentally spent nearly 24 hours there on route to Peru. But this time I'm back to see the city in all its glory.

    Accommodation:
    Viajero hostel because I'm now queen of the Viajeros. This one has a spa which is why I booked it and it's ridiculously fancy.

    Most people don't have great things to say about Bogota so I decided to limit my time here to one full day. I checked into the Viajero for two nights. My one full day was a pretty productive one with a mix of catch up, a tiny bit of culture and a lot of pampering.
    To my surprise, I had another unexpected overlap with Kim. She stayed in Bogota for longer than she planned so we met for lunch and caught up on what we had been up to for the last 2.5 weeks. It was really great to see her and as always, she had sourced out an amazing veggie cafe.
    On route back to my hostel I stumbled across Museo Botero which is home to Latin Americas most important international art collection. This has all been donated by Fernando Botero who is Colombias most prized artist. I had seen a lot of his sculpture work on the streets of Medellin so it was really enjoyable to see some of the same sculptures in miniature versions in the museum. Most of his work takes the same form of larger than life and exaggerated features. He has done his own take on some classics, including the Mona Lisa.
    I had an important 14:30 deadline to make back in the hostel spa. I was in "much need" of a facial and massage after a long six months of hard backpacking. I also rounded off the day with a pedicure for good measure.

    Recommendations:
    Quinoa and Amaranto - great veggie restaurant with one meal of the day rather than a menu.
    Museo Botero
    Read more