Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Je suis arrive

    December 24, 2022 in New Caledonia ⋅ 🌧 26 °C

    I have arrived in Noumea to a beautiful sunny warm day with no wind. I am in the same hotel in virtually the same room. It will do just fine but I could do a lot better - just saying. The free wifi ran out almost immediately and my wonderful overseas Telstra phone service hasn’t reached the pacific islands yet - so I may have to buy a sim or something next week. Found the shops were still open so I went to a little one nearby I know well and bought some great stuff. I tried to buy a baguette but the shop keeper refused to sell it to me. When I asked why he knocked it on the counter and said ‘merde’ - is that the word for stale? Hehe!! Quite right too -no civilised French person would buy a baguette at 5pm in the evening…. Unpacked then took in the sunset with a beer on the Promenade. They are doing up the waterfront ala Kirra (in prime time) and it will be nice but - the palms and narrow beach have gone in favour of a Surfers P style boulevard and more sand - hey it’s back to Holloways soon!! Still - looks good for a dip (bob) tomorrow. I hope Santa is on song for you all!Read more