Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Joyeux Noel

    December 25, 2022 in New Caledonia ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    Joyeux Noel to you all. I wish for a great day for all. Joyeux has long been my most favourite French word - mostly for the beautiful pronunciation (jwa - oo- aah) but also it’s forever association with Perrier Jouet Champagne (in particular Belle Époque). I do like champagne and indeed I am having some now as one does with Christmas brekkie. My little local duka (Swahili for corner store) had a half of Nicholas Feuillatte and a yummy jambon baguette. A great start. The weather has continued beautiful from yesterday. Normal day for the shop folks so I stocked up on beer, wine, water and lunch goodies. A beautiful fresh baguette, some washed rind (St Nectaire) some mortadella and a pandan leaf rolled up Vietnamese pate. Lunch sorted! To the beach for an hour or so - crystal clear water, beautiful temperature and lots of Noumea folk picnicking ‘en plage’. Lunched then a good walk to the next bay - Baie des Citrons. Lots of happy folk enjoying their day - a cold beer then a dip before walking back. A nice sundowner at a nearby cafe with a table on the footpath overlooking the bay (and the foreshore restoration). Had a burger that, in the setting, was good! A very relaxing day in perfect weather and left in no doubt I am France- pretty much everybody is speaking French.Read more