Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Action required - then settle back!

    December 27, 2022 in New Caledonia ⋅ 🌧 25 °C

    The drizzle yesterday arvo turned into rain in the evening then a full blown storm for most of the night. No light show but plenty of rain and wind. The morning was more set with the lightest drizzle and lighter wind. A nice baguette brekkie and quick provision shop then I had some work to do. I needed cash, a phone that works and pick up the car. Auto tellers and obtaining sim were major frustrations on my last trip so I headed out with an open mind….the nearby auto teller (that has never been forthcoming in the past) gushed money! The Post Office a couple of kilometres walk up the road was the first attempt of 3 last time to set up my phone. 10 mins and done this time! The car hire was across the road and last time I gave up applying for a car on the island as the additional deposit was 3x the fee. Booking on the Qantas site there was none of that ! A very reasonable cost compared to now prices in Oz. This morning has me with a surprised face!! I have been steeling myself for some time about driving a LH drive car on foreign roads. K has just reminded me it is not my first time - we had a go in La Grona in Northern Spain. I have no recollection and even photos she has dug up don’t help - it must have been awful! Anyway off I go in the drizzle in a manual on a tiny road. Went for a 20 km training circuit and sorted - everything on the wrong side and upside down!! Will drive to town tomorrow for a market breakfast and then more of a tour (note to self - turning left it is the far lane to aim for!!) Back to the hotel for a rewarding beer at the hotel pool - still a bit drizzley. A walk to a beach to the south buying an umbrella on the way. A nice dip then back to the pool as it had big umbrellas- still only a drizzle but enough to wet stuff. A quiet time and then see how far the weather lets me explore this evening.Read more