Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Noumea Ville

    December 28, 2022 in New Caledonia ⋅ 🌧 29 °C

    Drove to the city for brekkie at the market - Le Marche de Noumea. Small but always interesting. Great croque madame with cafe au lait (not a Theo coffee!!) has set me up nicely. Enjoyed the market - bought some chillies, a t shirt and a stubbie cooler (predictable 🙄) then walked around the (small) city centre. Quite tacky but with some character thrown in. Changed some currency then jumped back in the car and just followed the one way streets. I knew I wanted to end up at a super Super Marche (Auchon) that I had been to before. Parking was like Bunnings - where I struggle in ‘normal’ cars. However - in and bought a hot fresh baked baguette, some nice cheese and some oysters. I was tempted by the bottle shop (AMAZING selection of French wine inc Gigondas etc etc) - however I was saved by having left my passport in the boot! Home to a relaxing hour by the pool - baking in a returning sun. Lunch was oysters, all of the above and White Bordeaux. Streaky Bay oysters have nothing to worry about (just saying) but it was a treat just the same. Noumea chillies now! (good too). Long walk along the Promenade and a quick dip - rolling thunder sent me home quick smart. Back to the pool with the big umbrellas for a good read. Just a few drops so far but it does look ominous. Won’t venture far tonight - probably to my (very close) footpath cafe again. They will know my name soon!
    PS - the interweb doesn’t want upload this again tonight so…..tomorrow
    Read more