Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Setting off

    December 30, 2022 in New Caledonia ⋅ ☁️ 30 °C

    Today was always going to be up in the air (pun!) After a good run I was going to go to the Marche des Noumea for brekkie but I had too much XPF cash in my wallet! The hotel buffet had always looked ok so I thought I would have a crack. It was as good as it looked - fresh fruit, runny scrambles and pain et confitures (nod to K). Packed up and a bit of a tour killing time before the museum of local culture opened. Coffee in Baie de Citrons was in a lovely spot but same old frothy milk. Time was going slowly so I bought a small baguette and some jambon and finally found a park near the city square. Had lunch but failed to find a street direction that coincided with the museum - I was not feeling the island vibe so I headed to the airport. It is a long drive and on an expressway so imagine those European autobahns - me sitting on 100kms p/h and everyone else 140 ++. Anyway I got there and dropped the car off (with no clear directions and entering through the out lane) then to checkin. Well - I find checkin opens in an hours time. Oh well - no shops, no bars until 30 mins to checkin. Had a beer then checked in. All good - but security didn’t open for another 45 mins 🤷 (Noumea time I need to understand). I finally get to the Hibiscus lounge and all is good with the world - even the delayed flight (1hr 35) is beyond an issue- hey, I am on holiday!! Wandered out to Duty Free and bought my allowance in Pastis - plenty here but absolutely none to be found in Australia. Later into Brisbane than expected but my hotel is at the airport so all good.Read more