Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Winging it

    March 19, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    The flight was delayed a further 15 mins - on top of the original 50 mins. Not smog but heavy fog apparently. Delays all down the line but not a issue to me atm - lounge was good, 25A is empty (swoon) and cabin manager Courtney has fetched me a glass of French from business (double swoon). The captain has also promised to put the boot in but the connection is looking shaky. A good flight but the cabin was as cold as a Seoul morning! Lucky I had 2 blankets. For brekkie a choice was Korean chicken porridge and it was really very good. Arrived in Sydney International just as my domestic connection was leaving. Connection is a loose term as I booked them separately - yes Kerry, we have discussed this but Cairns doesn’t always match up neatly when I do it - you professionals have other skills than me! The transfer desk person was very helpful and she managed to get me the last seat on a direct flight SYD-CNS on Jetstar! By swallowing my pride I will at least get home before 10pm! She also said it was full service booking and my carry on would be acceptable and all my points/credits had been noted - oh, and she gave me a cab charge to get to domestic. The experience was made even easier at the Jetstar checkin by me explaining to a wandering team member what had happened and she took me past the huge queue straight to the service desk. When I mentioned the full service and bags bit she did well not to fall about laughing! I won’t be rolling around laughing when I try to get my status credits transferred - some time on the phone I imagine. I did check in my bigger bag as it would have cost $45. The terminal is shared with Virgin and Rex so it isn’t the horrible place that MEL Jetstar is. The flight ended up by being delayed by 50mins (go figure) but I still get home about 3pm. The flight was ok and I had a nice sandwich and glass of sparkling. Quick cab home and in the door at exactly 3pm. Total unpack and first wash then a quick but half hearted run - for my seoul you understand! I am so glad I went to Seoul and really enjoyed immersing my self as much as I could in the Seoul culture (food!!) Colder than I like but it could’ve been colder. In summer it is the other extreme and a hot city would be hard work. I believe Holly and her lot are up here in paradise as we speak and Kerry arrives for a short trip on Friday. Living the dream indeed!!
    Thanks for the follow and I have enjoyed your comments.
    Read more