Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    BNE - VLI …..Back of the bus

    October 3, 2023 in Vanuatu ⋅ 🌬 24 °C

    My word - seat 29A! I remember very well the last time I was seated in the very back row. It was the day after the Port Arthur massacre - a flight back to Hobart from Maroochydore. I had been in Port Arthur just the week before…horrible time. There sure are no Qantas considerations- I didn’t even get an isle seat. Hopefully I get a view coming out/in. Glass half full - just about to take off and I am alone in the row of three- I will take this! Flying now — half the battle!
    Now arrived - sultry but VERY windy and looking like it could rain at any minute. The drive in from the airport was very Koh Samui. Lots of garages and small shops. On first impressions - everywhere is a little tired and clearly the economy is not booming. The main street meanders around a picturesque harbour. The hotel is more than adequate but here I wish I hadn’t been given top floor. Only 3 floors but stairs - brought back Haig St Kirra memories!! Nice balcony overlooking the pool. There is a pool bar with a cocktail person! Did the obligatory hike to a marche for some local beer to ‘welkam’ myself to Port Vila. Dinner is a little while away yet and I am hesitant to rush into the first place I see
    Read more