Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Downtown PV

    October 4, 2023 in Vanuatu ⋅ 🌬 25 °C

    Up at a civilised hour but before the crowds. A difficult run on roads without footpaths- I will go another way tomorrow. Even so - it was hilly and warm and did the job. A much brighter day today but still windy. Buffet brekkie goes with the room so baguette with jam (hello Kerry) is the go. A walking morning- I wanted to see the National Museum, downtown Port Vila, the markets and whatever. The museum was ok but needs some love. The outdoor handicrafts market can be missed while the indoor one was much better. The Central Marche was excellent- beautifully presented produce. The food hall was not enticing with everything one should avoid when eating on the street. I had a lunch in view so not an issue. I bought the obligatory stubby holders, t shirt, fridge magnets (for me and my hairdresser!) and chillies. Didn’t they look (and taste) a picture. Back to my digs via an AMAZING Thai iced coffee. A bit of a breather then back down the hill to the highly recommended Waterfront Restaurant. Great position. Don’t usually have steak at lunch (rarely anytime) but Vanuatu Beef has a huge reputation so I thought - I am not here long and.. French wine is cheaper than Australian wine and the choice is better. The steak was excellent- truly - it was also HUGE, However - this was a must do in a prime spot. Waddled back up the hill to my digs and then to the pool for some sunshine. Dinner will be very light with tomorrow a day planned at a beach resort. Rang up to arrange a day pass at a lux beach resort that appears to have a lovely beach/pool/restaurants as per Kerry’s great idea in Choeng Mon. Catch a local B van for 150 VT ($2) - can’t go wrong!! A very relaxing day planned. This place is a very friendly and laid back spot.Read more