Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Nath.tha la in Ceylon

    December 25, 2023 in Sri Lanka ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    I wish a wonderful Nath.tha la to you all. This is the word for Christmas in sinhalese. I finally arrived at my hotel at 2.15am local time - that would have been 5.45am in Melbourne where I started at 3.45 the previous morning. The morning light still got me up and about early.
    It will be an early night tonight! My hotel is on Galle Rd in Wellawatta - a part of Colombo I have enjoyed on my previous trips. It is a buzzing area, heaving with character. My hotel isn't bad and has a balcony looking over Galle Rd (the main road south). I went to the sea and saw a train and managed to trap a tuktuk in a nice tropical setting. Back for brekkie - it was a set affair. The omelette, fruit (esp ripe papaya) was ok but I will see what else I can find tomorrow. I will stock up on some stuff soon. There is a really good supermarket very close (I have been there many times on other trips.) It has EVERYTHING including beer and wine.
    I hope you are all having an amazing Christmas Day - I see Fi started hers off well with the traditional salmon scrambled with keta! I am sure the rest of you are kicking along in style
    Read more