Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 65

    Finally, Jaffna!

    April 26, 2022 in Sri Lanka ⋅ ⛅ 33 °C

    After saying for over a month that I was heading towards Jaffna... Finally made it! No tourists/travellers could be spotted on the area (only met the two guys who were also staying at my hostel), the city felt something like a mix of Sri Lanka and India, the atmosphere felt different, and so did the people. Everyone was less smiley and the streets felt somehow less clean and poor, but keeping the Sri Lankan essence. The undiscovered beaches and the roads were something to enjoy, full of colonial ruins, and everyone would turn around and looked at me surprised, probably same reaction as I would have towards an elephant. Biked and biked around the area, stopping for every interesting place I found, enjoyed the company of Lars, a dutch guy, and had some real conversations (something I was really needing for a while), enjoyed a coconut that a lovely man got us from the top of a palm tree, haunted some dosas and just got lost on the mistery of Jaffna.

    📍Essentials: drive along the coast and the islands, Nallur Kanthaswamy Temple
    🍴Food: Malayan Cafe
    Read more