Satelit
Tunjukkan pada peta
  • Hari 110

    Phnom Penh

    10 Jun 2022, Kemboja ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    After an insanely easy border crossing, found myself in a new country. Nevertheless it doesn't really feel as if I had just changed flags, everything looks quite similar. Probably because it's the first time I don't travel long distance to change nations, so I didn't get the cultural shock I was getting on the previous journeys. On a first view, Cambodian people seem very lovely and nice, their english is way more understanding (but still, outside of touristic sites people don't speak it), everything feels much more organised and less chaotic, the sizes of the chairs are for an average human; and, indeed, its clear that Cambodia is one of the poorest countries in Asia. Phnom Penh was an opportunity to decide which direction I wanted to take my trip this time. Also took a day to empathize with the horrors that happened in this land not so long ago. Got invited to dinner by some nice locals with the Swedish guy I met, and got ready for investigating this new country, decided I might try to hitchhike it so I can get closer to the people and feel as I am having some real experience (and save some bucks on the way), but seems like this concept doesn't exist in Cambodia, so let's see how it works...

    📍Essentials: killing fields, genocide museum
    💡Travelling tips: apparently 2$ are not accepted in the country, so avoid bringing them with you to Cambodia. Nor damaged bills, so always check that they are in good shape when accepting change. (As you can see been in the country for a day and keep getting scammed, so I've got plenty of money that I can't use🙃)
    💡Travelling tips: the conversion from dollar to riems is not 100% exact, so always using riems might benefit you a bit longterm. ABA bank has riems
    🍴Food: Dosa Corner (if you need a break from noodle soup as I did)
    Baca lagi