Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 113

    Kampot

    June 13, 2022 in Cambodia ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    Started my adventure through the country by exiting the big city of Pnomh Penh. First thing I had to do was to walk for a few kilometers to a bus station that would take me out of the city and to the highway towards my next destination. The bus was a nice and interesting experience as a starter, it looked very clean and organized (and not so used as well, sadly), they trusted you with the payment and you had to insert the bill on a box on the door of the bus (and it was only around 0.3$, so very different from the rest of transportation expenses I had till the moment). Arrived to the surrounds of the country and started my test. I had written a paper both in English and Khemer with the place I was going towards and tried to stop the cars and trucks who where rapidly going through the road. You could clearly see in their confused faces or waving smiles that they didn't understand what I was doing. Still, without any waiting time I got myself a ride from a motorbike driver who looked like a gangster in a pink helmet and was half my size. Even though he didn't speak any english, he told me he could drop me on his way and we made clear that I couldn't pay him. He was a very sweet man who invited me to three redbulls (which I clearly couldn't finish) and when his time to turn came, he stood on the road with me and didn't leave until I could get myself a new ride. For the continuation, a man who spoke some proper english picked me up and was also incredibly nice and sweet, this time I got myself invited to plenty of water and a durian (for those who don't know what it is, it's a very typical fruit from South-East Asia of a huge size, an expensive price, a very weird taste (for me it kinda reminded me to a croqueta taste but a bit sweet) and an awful smell, even some establishments forbid the entrance with it). We spoke for hours and he told me so much about the economical, political and social situation of the country. So it was a blast to get to the place with all this beautiful experience already (and fully what I was seeking for in my travelling).
    As in for Kampot, it was a cute city in front of a river and surrounded by large vegetation. The town is known for its Durian's and Pepper (supposed to be the best), so you saw stalls with durians everywhere and even the icecream had pepper. They are so proud about it if you ask them. The city was full of expats everywhere with quite a lot of activities for them and tourists, so I had a taco night with live music and some more british people, enjoyed sunset in front (and inside) of the river and an expensive drink on a privileged spot, did some aeroyoga in a beautiful studio (how needed it was) and stayed in a waterpark with some rustic and wild attractions a bit far from society . Also visited a pretty pepper farm and learned how it grows and its harvested, visited a cave with an elephant shape inside, and enjoyed the road on the way and the emptiness around me. Nevertheless, apparently everything in life comes, and seemed like it was time for me to finally get sick. So I got some food poisoning (after eating always for the cheapest deals ever it was even surprising this was to happen so late) and suffered for some days without having nor energy or hopes to move. As my health was reaching the lowest point on the trip, so were my feelings, and I hit the rock bottom for some days where I was feeling very lonely, out of place and sad. I guess we all need someone to bring us soup or ask us how we are feeling when we're feeling on our low, and travelling solo has this con.
    And last but not least! Submitted my Australian visa already (my bank account is not so happy about this decisions), still have to go to the capital for some tests, but its getting closer!

    🏠 Accomodation: Karma traders (on tuesdays they have live music), Arcadia Waterpark (free entrance to the water park and the location and place is very rustic and nice to relax)
    🍴Food: Epic Cafe (social project with employees with disabilities and that donates 50% of the money to this group)
    📍Essentials: yoga barn (beautiful atmosphere a bit in the middle of nowhere surrounded by chickens and cows and they have aero yoga), Arcadia waterpark, Pepper farm (they give a free tour with a tasting), drive around pepper farm, secret lake and caves (there's not even a road, but views are beautiful), Hideaway for sunset (but careful with what you take or can be overly expensive)
    Read more