Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 160

    Koh Kong, Ready for the border crossing

    July 30, 2022 in Cambodia ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    Started my longlong way towards Bangkok (and ultimately, the north of Thailand). On my first day found my way to the border with Thailand, which wasn't as easy as I hoped. Walked in the jungle, took a tractor, a ferry a motorbike and finally some sort of shared taxi.
    My plan was to hitchhike from Sihanoukville to Koh Kong, but no cara were stopping at all, because apparently no one was going towards that direction. After waiting for a bit and seeing the difficulty, a guy on his motorbike stopped to whom I explained to him the same as other (I go this way... You can drop me anyway in between doesn't need to be too far away...) and said to me, wait a moment. He left and a few minutes later came back with some food and drinks for me and said he was gonna take me to the bus station and pay for the ticket. On other situations I would have refused fiercely, but it seemed hard to get there, and he was insisting very kindly. There weren't even buses going to where I was going, but finally he found me a shared taxi. He left me there with the company to wait for it. But a few minutes later he came back, with a piece of paper and said to me, if you have any problem in Koh Kong, please call me. I was so shocked by the genuine kindness of the man who didn't even ask for my name.
    Stayed in a cheap hotel with very loud karaoke noises until late at night (and I've you've ever heard asian people singing you will understand that it can even be a scary situation) but with a refreshing swimmingpool full of chloride. The day after, went for my last meal in the country, walking along the street until found a place full of people, as I usually do, and following the ritual, I waved at them and asked for food with no meet in khmer, to what I got a clear answer in english saying, with no dog then? And felt grateful for a moment for my vegetarianism, even though I am very sure I've had dog already more than once.
    And with that, I left the country and took myself towards the humble and easy border to Thailand.
    Read more