Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 172

    Ayutthaya, Siamese Kingdom

    August 11, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    Alli and I separated for a few days, I wanted to break my way down south so it wouldn't be so long (also I was travelling in third class to fit my budget which made it tougher of a journey). And Alli decided to reach the full moon party, which wasn't much of an interest for me. This is why I took two days to visit one of the Thailand's Ancient capitals. I was warned in advance that I might be disappointed after being in Angkor Wat, but that made me a bit sad, because it meant people didn't understand that those were two different things for teaching you and showing you different concepts. I biked around the city and enjoyed the contrast of the very thai way of living nowadays, completely melt with hundreds of ancient ruins. I went to the tourist center expecting to get to learn some of the history of the Siam civilization, but found that it was moved to a way smaller building where I could only get a booklet. So I enjoyed part of the day in a quiet park and read about what the city could offer. To close the marvelous tour about what thailand might have been at some point (a civilization worth giving a second to observe and give its respects, because it's one of the few that has never been colonized), went to the Royal Palace, entered the Wat Mahatat, and while imagining how it must have been at the time, admired the fave trapped in the trea that makes the symbol of the city. Then came back to my cozy hostel, where I had a dinner with the other guests. On my second day took the day very slowly, and biked near the river, visited a market and got a massage for 3€ with all the other thai people populating the area.

    🏠 Accomodation: Plus Hostel Ayutthaya (breakfast, dinner and all day snacks included and the owners are sososo lovely, backpacker's vibe is also nicer, older people and more relaxed)
    📍 Essentials: bike across the city and its ruins, Wat Mahatat
    Read more