Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 619

    Kochi

    November 1, 2023 in India ⋅ 🌧 28 °C

    Soooooo... How to begin? I think from the very moment I stepped out of the plane I felt relaxed and at home (which is weird cause it was 3 am, no data, mo money, no atms, no idea of where I was going...) My taxi driver overwhelmed me with new malayalam words and random facts about kochi, which gave some warmth to my heart, and later on I arrived to this empty, smelly ajd dirty place that was (probably) my new home. Teaching at loving earth has been my favorite place to teach yoga so far, the community and the students were beautiful, and I got to try, explore, experiment and do and redo. I was teaching around 12 classes a week (which for a yoga teacher is a pretty crazy amount), and basically hanging out in the cafe, getting to know the loving earth crew, working on my masters, and having some social times with Bree and Edgar, their friends and family and my students. It was a shortsgort month that felt like a lifetime, and when time came to leave, well, I wasn't ready. But from some places you never are, right? Some of my magical small adventures were arriving to have three puppies, one of them, ting, died, which upset me a lot. Bree and Edgar got married (which was the wedding of the year, cause Edgar is a wealthy businessman from Kochi who owns the most renowned places) to which I contributed a lot (and yeah, set up the bar and made the cocktail menu), went to a festival with Anna and danced and laughed and felt love by indian mamas for a night long, went exploring with Farhan (pretty much the only times I would leave Fort Kochi), got really spoiled by the staff who always had some chocolate, cold beers or porottas when I needed them the most had some cute girly coffees with Poppy, had a failed attempt to try to be a tourist and did a tour to the backwaters (did not like it at all), and never stopped loving and thanking yoga. After that, decided to have a wild attempt and loose my flight to the Phillipines (where I was meeting Mario until he got sick and cancelled the trip) and headed to Mysore to learn from the gurus of Asthanga (but yeah, I don't even really like ashtanga). Best luck to my last stage of this part of the adventure!!

    📍Essentials: loving earth yoga (aerial as well), kathakali performance in kathakali center, visit a temple during a festival and enjoy and share with the locals, sunset coast walks, walk around pattalam, try a reflexology session with sree, shamanic breathwork (or more) with Bhumi and Dijo
    🍴Food: dosa with gee and sambal, idli, masala dosa, parotta (thats pretty much local's diet), parippu curry, puttu, appam, sri krishna cafe, ananthan vegetarian restaurant, tibetan's kitchen
    Read more