Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 639

    Munnar and surroundings

    November 21, 2023 in India ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    Left on a quick field trip with Basil after my last day of work. Basil promised me he would take me to hug his cow, so he took me to his beutiful home in the mountains where they selfprovided as much as it was in their hands. Their aunt and uncle welcomed me with some food and chai and we got to explore the area around, visiting one of the longest hanging bridges in the world and driving around in Basil's motorbike. Afterwards, I wanted to see elephants (of course my only motivation where the animals), so we drove in the heavy rain (with plenty of techical stops), till a spot where elephants tended to go drink water every night. We waited there for almost five hours, until eventually the elephants arrived right before it got dark, a gorgeous family with two baby elephants and two adults. It gelt so magical. Afterwards we decided to drive to munnar to spend the night in a hostel, which I didn't lke cause we got woken up in the middle of the night to be told that they put us in the wrong room. Because of that and because I was feeling wxcited about going to Mysore and work on my asana practice, I decided to come back the next day with Basil and not stay longer and explore the area as I originally had planned. We drove around the area and did a bit of sightseeing of the beautiful tea plantations and green landscapes, and with a lot lot lot of water made it back to Kochi, where I would briefly stay to settle a few things I left open and find my way to Mysore.

    📍Essentials: drive on the area of Munnar, go see elephants in the river, hanging bridge in Basil's home, and definitely, hug a cow
    Read more