Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Viana

    July 29, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    On my way to Logroño, I started the day walking with an older German couple. They started walking in Munich!!! That would be 2,700k to Santiago, and they have done over 2/3 of the way, in a bit over 3 months. They started with very heavy packs, as they had to be equipped for the snow. Then they shipped the winter gear home. Legends!
    At one point they decided to stop for a coffee, but I kept going. I walked the rest of the way on my own, at a slow and steady pace.
    I stopped here for a break and a snack at Viana. It was getting very hot, and just sitting in the shade for a while felt great.
    Although I was walking on my own, I exchanged many 'buen caminos' with other walkers, and I could recognise some faces. Then, at rest stops, we can count on those familiar people to look after the backpack while one goes to the toilet, for example. We may not know each other's names, but we're all part of the same big thing and we look after each other.
    Read more