Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Borrowed light

    August 22, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Today I was doing more than 30k again so I started early. I woke up at 5 and started walking before 6.
    It's been a while since the last time I started so early and I forgot to get my head torch out of the backpack. It's such a hassle to take the backpack off and put it on again!
    I started to walk under the village lights, on the road, and soon another pilgrim with a torch was walking behind me. We kept the same pace. The light was enough for me to see what I was stepping on. I left enough room for them to pass me if they wanted to, although I was hoping they wouldn't. And they didn't 😅
    After a little while I thanked the stranger for lighting my way. It was a young Italian who spoke very little Spanish or English, and I spoke very little Italian. I asked him a few questions but either he was too shy or didn't want to talk, and stayed with me in silence until we found the first cafe open for breakfast, at about 5k.
    By the end of breakfast it was dawn and the light no longer needed, so I thanked him again, wished him buen Camino and I went on my way.
    There was a lot of fog today, and when it lifted it remained blissfully cloudy for most of the morning.
    Read more