Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Mental strategies

    August 22, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    In theory, today's walk was going to be 32k. According to my watch, it's always more, but I go by the guides to mentally prepare.
    If I think I have to walk 32k it feels that it will be hard, I will be tired, sore, hungry, hot... So, I break it up:
    First, I walk about 5k and then I stop for breakfast. This is easy.
    After breakfast, I have the energy to go to the halfway point. In this case, I plan to go non stop to 16k (as measured by my watch).
    When I get to 16k I start looking for a suitable place to stop for a rest and morning tea, and this can be up to 3k more, depending where I am.
    After this second stop, I plan one more stop between there and the destination. Today I was 14k from Melide (the destination), so I only had to do 2 more 7k walks.
    Read more