Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    The full experience

    August 25, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    When I started researching the Camino, it didn't take long until I learnt about the dreaded bed bugs.
    They are a feature.
    For a few days I was kind of paranoid about them, and thought I'd be thoroughly checking every bed, possibly spraying bed and sleeping gear, not letting anything touch the bed, not letting the backpack touch the floor, etc.
    Early in the Camino I realised that those precautions were very impractical. Albergues are generally very clean, most provide disposable sheets and pillowcase, and I got to Santiago without a single bite.

    But today, having spent my first night in Santiago, my fingers were itchy. Then my forearm. Then my other arm... yes, I got the full Camino experience, bed bugs and all! 🤣

    It's gross ,I know, but honestly they feel no worse than mosquito bites and don't cause any disease. They're just a nuisance. I'm not worried, and I think that the chance that I'm carrying any of the bugs in my clothes, etc. are very slim. I checked my sleeping bag liner and didn't find anything.
    Read more