Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Alp us if you can, we're feeling down...

    September 13, 2022 in France ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    Well we started OK but then it all went tits up! No problem avoiding Annecy on the way out and we wandered down the lakeside at Aix Le Bains, but they didn't fancy stopping much. Then out of Chambrey he decided theyd take in the wonder of the Chatreuse mountains on the way to Grenoble.
    It wer a steep climb up from the roundabout, and I huffed a bit up the hairpin bends, little did I know I would be repeating this again and again! The first time he missed a turn half way up and we had to descend through some houses to the roundabout. Second time old satnag sent us up the wrong road which he had specified, and bugger me was it narrow. He found us a driveway to turn round in, but I thought at the time...now way am I gonna get round without doing meself an injury. And guess what, he cracked me arse on a grassy bank and gave me what he said was superficial damages. Doh think so mate! So down the hill again to the same friggin roundabout and up again. He werent appy, I weren't appy, and she certainly weren't appy.
    Anyway we finally med it up to the top after a huge climb through the heavily wooded slopes and hairpin bends that made me strain a bit I could tell you, and when we reached the top yow cor seen the views because of even more trees. Everyone not appy. We soldiered on and things improved but it took me all afternoon to get along, and the big descent into Grenoble med me brakes red hot and stinky I can tell you.
    So time was gerrin on and we needed to get round Grenoble and park up for the night. Yer right.... Old satnag again... right through the centre of Grenoble at rush hour. They were still talking, but it wer a bit strained I can tell yer.
    So eventually we gets out of there, and head for the nearest town that has parking for the night, not great, at a car park at the back of a community hall all on us tod. But we am all knackered, so it had to do, and then it started raining........
    They get out the alcohol and settle down at last but wow it is humid here an I've got a sweat on even with all me windows open. They am talking OK, but at least nothing else can happen now...... then he bangs his bonce on the cab roof overhang and the language....... Its a real lump coming so they ice it up, and get to getting some grub then two of me gas burners are barely giving out a flame so dinner teks for ever.
    So off to bed, but they have to close all the windows for security, and it is hot....damn hot! (are you there Mark?).
    Well... tomorrow has gorra be better? Hasn't it?
    Read more