Satellite
Mostra sulla mappa
  • Giorno 21

    Day 21 of AT in NC NOBO

    22 maggio 2023, Stati Uniti ⋅ ☁️ 77 °F

    Green Corner Road drop off spot (mile marker 241.8) to Max Patch Roadside tent area (#254.3).
    Daily mileage: 12.5

    Nate dropped me back off at Green Corner Rd at 10:45 am and I immediately headed 4 miles straight uphill to the top of Snowbird Peak (4,300 ft Elev). The run of great weather continues with sunny skies and a high @ 65 at the higher elevations. A pretty view from Snowbird, but seeing as I got a late start, I wanted to quickly get going on some miles for the day.

    Passed Groundhog Creek Shelter and numerous ups and downs on the 8 mile afternoon journey to my evening tent spot just below Max Patch. A small tenting area right next to the gravel road that cars take up to the Max Patch parking lot. Was all by myself tonight and got set up for camp and ate dinner @ 7pm. No bear sightings and only a couple of cars zooming up the road at @ 2am (to get up to the top in time for the sunrise?).

    Did have a fun surprise at 7:45 pm. Who showed up coincidentally on the gravel road to drop of 2 hikers but Nate! He’s amazing, he goes all day from 4:30 am to 9pm six days a week shuttling hikers to and fro. He’ll be shuttling me to the Asheville NC airport to fly home in 10 days.
    The husband and wife tandem he dropped off I would get to know extremely well over the next 4 days. More to come on that!
    Leggi altro