Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    We're Here!

    September 2, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 68 °F

    After we finished breakfast, Kathy wanted a break from driving so I agreed to spend some time behind the wheel. Unfortunately, while I'm driving I'm not able to document our trip. It was uneventful though and there wasn't much to say or show. I was happy when we finally arrived in Syracuse.
    Once we got to Syracuse, the first thing we did was go to our hotel to check in and drop off the bags. Unfortunately, we couldn't check in because the Marriott Courtyard didn't have any rooms available for early check-in. It wasn't really a problem for us to check in that night but we felt bad that we wasted our time driving to the hotel when we could have gone straight to the fair.
    The drive from the hotel to the fair grounds was horrific. It was only a few miles yet it took us more than 40 minutes to get there. Once we finally got there, it took another 40 minutes just to park the car. I'm really surprised that the New York State Fair is such a popular attraction. I hope that the fair is going to be worth all of this traffic!
    Looking at the map, this fair is much bigger than I had expected it to be. I hope that we have enough time to see everything!
    Read more