Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Orisson, France: Auberge Borga

    July 1, 2021 in France ⋅ ⛅ 68 °F

    Mantras
    Today is a short day. Only 8km but all uphill. I will start each day with a few mantras.

    I am not a human being on a spiritual journey. I am a spiritual being on a human journey.
    Keep going.
    It’s not a race, slow the fuck down.
    I am grateful for this day and I smile as I have the next 24 hours to explore.
    I will show compassion to myself and to others.

    Blood, Sweat, and Tears

    Sweat. I’ve never been so sweaty in my life. The uphill climb reminds me of the neighborhood I grew up in, Briar Ridge. My mom used to walk “the hill” when I was younger and I remember being impressed with her ability to tackle such a steep street on her morning walks. Today’s walk felt like a never ending Briar Ridge. My butt and calves hate me.
    Tears. Nearing my first stop, I passed a cement structure where someone had written the words “KEEP GOING” and instantly I cried. This phrase is not only my mantra, but reminds me of my Grandma Mary.
    Blood.
    Well, I started my period today. Thanks uterus. This should be interesting.

    Letting go. I have met wonderful people and started my day with a mom and daughter duo from Texas. They are positive and uplifting. We are staying in different places tonight but plan to start our morning together. I’ve been told that a magical part of the Camino are the connections made with other pilgrims and the strange way in which you meet, connect, then may never see each other again. I will remind myself to appreciate the moments together, and let go when we part ways.

    Courage vs Bravery
    I came across a rock where someone wrote “Courage.” This made me think about all the times people have said to me “You’re going to walk the Camino alone? You’re so brave!” I don’t think I’ve ever stopped to consider the difference between courage and bravery until today. I have never called myself courageous but today, I am. I’ve been brave so many times but I think being brave is what I do to get through something I don’t yet have the courage to do. I feel courage in my heart and I feel bravery in my mind. I will continue to reflect on this as I walk.

    PS. I arrived at my hostel two hours before they opened. I’m pretty sure I’m trespassing right now as I lie under a tree, and hope I don’t get yelled at in French when the hosts arrive!

    PSS. I freaking love walking poles!! My ADHD hands now have something to do and I find the rhythm to be cathartic.
    Read more