Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    La Falla de Expocisión

    March 19, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 15 °C

    I had a siesta so I could venture out to see at least one Crema (burning of the Fallas). And I decided to make it the one by where I used to live. Usually the main Fallas are burnt at 10pm (the kids' Fallas are burnt at 8) and the one on the main square at 11pm. So I got there in plenty of time. It turns out the Falla de Expocision, which was what my old street's one was, gets burnt at 10.30. So, not only did I get there way too early for 10, I had another half an hour to wait. But I'm glad I did. It was a magical experience.

    I was also pleased to see some (visual - had plenty of exposure to mascaletas now) fireworks as it made me feel less silly about being far too tired to go see some last night (they're on at 1 am!)

    As I recall, we watched from our balcony last time (4 decades ago!). But then I also feel sure we were at the main square for the final one. Maybe I'm remembering postcards of it.

    Made prodigious use of the metro and trams today. And very glad that they run 24 hours during Fallas.
    Read more