Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Stage 21: Calzadilla de la Cueza-Sahagún

    October 5, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    22.4 km/13.9 miles, 46°-75°, about 7.5 hours
    The foot felt so much better today, I started early at 7:15, the first time I've used a light to walk with. By 8:00 I didn't need it anymore. I stopped every chance I got to sit down, rest and eat something, so grateful not to be in pain. By 10 miles the pain started to return and I was getting stumbley. A strategically placed park with picnic tables and shade appeared just as I was about to fall over and turned out to be the geographic center of the Camino. So I have passed the halfway mark! Found my hostal in Sahagún and did the usual chores- shower, laundry, book the next couple nights, go in search of food. Reconnected with a couple from Longview I first met in Navarrete,and keep tag teaming with, and a couple from Denmark that stayed in the same hostal with me in Fromista and we made a merry band for dinner. I'm going to go to the Tourist Office in the morning when it opens at 9:00 to get my halfway certificate, then walk the 8.5 miles to Calzadilla de Los Hermanillos. I've been walking since September 13, need to try to plot out my stages for the rest of the Way. The plan was to be in Porto, Portugal October 22. That would mean some long stages the next couple weeks. Will have to get input from the team on that.Read more