Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Stage 22: Sahagún-Calzadilla

    October 6, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Calzadilla de los Hermanillos (too long for the title) except that I missed the cutoff for the alternate route here and was in Bercianos del Real Camino before I realized it. Was just not having it this morning. I can feel the need for a rest day, luckily have 2 nights booked in Leon Saturday and Sunday.
    I got my beautifully printed halfway certificate at the tourist office when it opened at 9:00, had a proud and happy moment, then started the march out of Sahagún, cool overcast and windy. 53°-66°, got to Bercianos about 12:30, only about 10.5 km/6.5 miles, first place with any services. That's too long for second coffee for me. Was so grumpy, just stumping along, head down, that's why I missed the cutoff. It was a couple hours before anybody got a civil "buen Camino" out of me.
    It's getting harder to find accommodations as I get closer to Santiago, due to the rebound glut of pilgrims. I'm worrying about what I'm going to do for the last 100 km, the minimum distance one can walk to get the Compostela, as the numbers walking increase dramatically at that point. Already I find large chattering groups going by to be a disruption, but I guess that's because I'm attached to having my own private Camino. I realize they're having their own Caminos so I enlarge my heart to include them and send them a silent blessing as they pass. We're each doing it alone and we're all in it together. Insight for the day.
    Anyway, got a taxi to the town I was supposed to have walked to and the Casa El Cura kindly let me in early. Nice not to feel bone tired and beat up. Tomorrow will be about 11 miles to Reliegos. Time for a siesta.
    Read more