Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Stage 34: Portomarin-Palas de Rei

    October 19, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    I didn't post yesterday so getting caught up.
    24.8 km/15.4 miles, around 60° all day, 9 hours
    Left Portomarin in the dark and pouring rain, first real rain I've encountered in 34 days of walking, other than some light sprinkles. A true test of one's resolve. It stopped about 10:30, followed by intermittent sun breaks, strong wind and sprinkles. My boots were completely sodden though, with squishy socks, thankfully the feet survived intact. I had some short gaiters I tucked my pants into- big mistake. The poncho worked quite well at keeping my upper half dry but only comes down to about my knees, so below that my pants became soaked and seeped into my socks. Solution- some rain pants purchased at a tiny sporting goods store in Palas de Rei. I stayed in La Cabaña, a rustic resort about a kilometer before the town, as did a delightful couple from Denmark Jens and Kirsten, who I first met in Fromista. We hiked into town for dinner then met up again Thursday in Melide heading to Arzua.Read more