Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Day 7 in Malawi

    May 17, 2023 in Malawi ⋅ 🌙 63 °F

    This morning was for errands. We had to meet a person to pay for the safari we are going on next week🤩! Then we picked up friends of Roberta's who had loaned her their second car while hers was in the shop and went to get her car. It wasn't ready so her friends dropped us off at the immigration office so Roberta could get an extension on her visa. Car still wasn't ready so we walked to a coffee shop to wait until someone from the shop came to pick us up and take us there. And that was our morning. Back at Roberta's, she fixed a late lunch while I started on a sewing project for her. She asked if I could make new covers for her porch sofa and chairs. We got new thicker cushions and fabric last Fridsy when we got the sewing machines. I cut the corners off one end of 5 cushions to match the rounded ones that were on the furniture. Then I started ripping out the zippers from the current cushion covers so I can use them on the ones I make. It was a nice afternoon. We had our late lunch, then went to Roberta's Bible study. Ten ladies from several different countries-Korea, South Africa, Canada, Malawi, US, and UK-met - to discuss their study on Elijah. It was a great group and a great discussion. We got home around 7, had a light supper, and I ripped out one more zipper before bed.
    The only picture I took today was of the only traffic light I have seen here, in front of the Convention Center and hotel. There are so many intersections that really need stoplights. Malawi, actually Lilongwe, has grown so much in 13 years. Large office buildings, much more traffic, nice restaurants, grocery stores with many choices. The population has actually grown by more than 5 million since I was here last.
    Read more