Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 49

    Lawn bowling.?

    February 27, 2018 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    We got up sort of early to check out and leave CPD before traffic would be messy, but it was all good as it meant breakfast in Kirribilli with a nice view of Sydney harbour with the bridge and the opera house.
    First point on the agenda was wine tasting in Hunter valley, while the others tasted a few wines, I caught up on my journal.
    From Hunter valley we headed towards Tamworth, a medium sized town a bit inland. On the way we stopped for lunch and snack breaks.
    As we made it to Tamworth we immediately headed to the lawn bowling club. Lawn bowling is a game quite similar to petanque, only the bowls are larger and only weighted on one side, which make the curl when they slow down.
    Emily and I played Vicky and Stuart. At first Emily and I were dominating, but Vicky and Stuart improved quickly and we had some close matches with individual bowls being played on pro level from all of us.
    In the end Emily and I claimed a narrow victory. I expected to enjoy lawn bowl, but not as much as I actually did, it was great fun.
    As we walked back we went straight to dinner with a trivia night.
    Read more