Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 71

    Last Goodbye

    March 21, 2018 in Australia ⋅ 🌧 20 °C

    My time in Australia had come to an end, luckily my flight was not to early in the morning, so Emily and I were able to have a last breakfast together and say proper goodbyes before I was picked up by a shuttle bus taking me to Cairns airport. It was hard to say goodbye, but I'm happy it wasn't a rushed goodbye.
    I had good timing in the airport and managed to get into the check in line just before a massive group of people, which also meant I had a very short wait at security.
    Like any airport it's pretty boring waiting for the flight, I watched a movie to pass the time, my final destination was Hanoi Vietnam, but first I had a flight 3 hours in the wrong direction to Sydney.
    With under 2 hours to collect bag, check in again and get through Sydney Airport I was a bit stressed. After collecting the bag I had to buy a train ticket to get to the international airport. After a quick check in, the automatic immigration didn't work, so I had to get handled manually, at this point I had 15 minutes to boarding would commence. At security my bag had to be rescanned twice, I was picked out for a body scan, where as always my right shoulder gave a reading, and to finalize the complete overhaul my bag was swapped for explosives. I ran through the airport to get water, lunch, and snacks for the flight.
    After an uneventful flight it was easy to go through immigration and after a collecting my bag I took my pre-booked transfer to my hotel, in the transfer was a danish girl and a danish guy traveling in Asia, they had been waiting in Hanoi airport for 45 minutes for me. So for the 4th time since leaving Denmark I spoke danish.
    Read more