Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Bikes, Flowers and Randomness, Amsterdam

    April 17, 2023 in the Netherlands ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Today was a write off as I was not well at all and I have finally succumbed to Brad’s symptoms from earlier on our trip. I have no idea how he managed to keep functioning as it has really knocked me about. Brad tested negative for Covid when he wasn’t feeling the best so it did not cross my mind that I would have Covid as the symptoms were all over the place. I did a test and it was a very quick and definite positive. I am no longer a “Novid”, someone who hasn’t had Covid. We spent the day in bed, binge watching Netflix shows and sleeping. Thankfully we have already explored Amsterdam so there isn’t too much we are missing out. I was hoping to go and see the windmills but that is just not possible considering how I am feeling. Hopefully I will feel better tomorrow as we leave for our next destination.

    At long last we have been able to see some Springtime flowers and Amsterdam has delivered that . The bursts of colour after quite a few wet and dreary days has been a welcome relief. I have also loved the quirkiness and uniqueness of this town.

    One thing that has really surprised me is the sheer number of bikes. They are absolutely everywhere and it appears many of them are abandoned. They even have multi level bike “garages” but it appears people would prefer not to pay for secure bike storage and they are chained up anywhere and everywhere. It is also crazy how they ride here. Not only do we have to watch out for cars, bike riders are even more dangerous. I'm sure I saved Brad many times.
    Read more