Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Bilbao 🥰

    August 19, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 32 °C

    I'm spending a couple of nights in Bilbao before heading back towards Biarritz for a Wednesday flight. Fortunately, a few of the other girls from the Picos holiday were overnighting in Bilbao yesterday, so we were able to meet up for a beer and a meal.
    There's a festival here at the mo, so down by the river it's a madness of stalls (beer, mojitos, burgers...) and a few large music stages, which were unbelievably loud! I wonder if I'm just getting old?😆
    We managed to find a quiet bar for a beer and a nice restaurant for food. Restaurants don't open until 8.00pm, though, and I like to be in bed by 10.00pm 😂 so I wasn't sure I'd make it 🙄😅. But I wasn't alone as the others had flights to catch today, so I just managed to hit the pillow in time for a very good sleep 🥱💤😅.
    Today, I bimbled down to the Guggenheim and was very pleased to gain entry as a 'pensionista'! I'm pleased, because the art wasn't much to my taste, so I didn't spend too long in there (and anyway, my feet were killing me!) I did appreciate some of the art, though, and it's such a fantastic building. The large 'muriel' is made of bottle tops - I've included the explanation - I can really appreciate this type of art!
    It being Sunday means most shops and restaurants are closed around the hotel so, unless I want to walk back to the Guggenheim and wait until 8.00pm, I'm going to be eating in my room. It's been stodge all day 😖 but as I've already walked 14km, I'll let myself off🙄😅.
    Hondarribia tomorrow 👏👏👏
    Read more