Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    The end 😕

    August 22, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    After enjoying a day in Bilbao I had fully intended to take an early-ish bus to San Sebastian then the train to Irun, where I'd either walk the few kms to Hondarribia or take the bus, depending on the weather, my mood and my feet! "Have you bought your ticket?" asked sensible Mick the night before... Of course I hadn't! I was a solo traveller and there was bound to be one seat on one of the many buses to SS! Well, Mick was right, of course 🙄😂. All of the buses were booked (and I was at the station by 9.30am) and the first I could take was at 2.45pm that afternoon. So it was another half day in Bilbao - no problem at all, except I was carrying my backpack - and a rethink about how to get to Hondarribia. I wandered down to the Guggenheim and enjoyed a late breakfast of a chocolate donut (my Camino staple) and a coke zero, and just enjoyed reading my book and people watching. Then it was back to the bus station with plenty of time for a small lunch. Somehow, though, 🤔🙄😜 I managed to get thoroughly lost and found myself wandering through housing estates and commercial centres! Thank goodness I'd left myself lots of time to get to the station, because I needed it 😂. Anyway, I still managed to eat lunch and get there in time for my bus, which was then 45 minutes late 😱. Doesn't do you any good when you don't understand the language too well 😂. By this time, I'd decided I'd be a little profligate and find myself a taxi at SS for the 18km journey to Hondarribia. The fare was a tad eye popping but well worth it 😉. I'd treated myself to a bit of a posh hotel, a 12th century former tower/palace/whatever, that does a very good breakfast, which Mick and I had stayed in years ago. The room was ace but I was hoping the church bells gave up at 10.00pm so i could sleep😂. After lots of salad for dinner, I enjoyed an excellent night's sleep with no bells👏👏👏.
    Next morning I breakfasted very well indeed, and dumped my backpack at reception so I could enjoy Hondarribia. It's an interesting town - ancient and modern all in one - metres thick stone walls and modern apartment blocks. And it's an approved route on the Camino del Norte, although Julie and I took a different direction last year. There's even a beach, although it's tiny, and I found out I could get a boat from here right to Hendaye, where I was catching the bus to Biarritz airport, ready for my flight. I didn't take the boat, though, as Mick told me it's a circuitous route to the station and the last thing I needed to do was get lost (again!)😅. So, it was the bus to Irun and a walk to Hendaye, where I bought Amy (great neice) a flamenco dress and Finn (great nephew) a Basque beret 😅. The 35 minute bus trip to Biarritz airport took an hour and a half 🙄 and cost less than €1.50! I think the driver might have misunderstood my French accent 😆. Apart from my journey home, this really was the end of my Spanish adventure 😕. I've loved (just about) every minute of it - but I'm not doing it again! Next year, I think I'm going back to the cruise-type holiday (as long as there's a climbing wall on board😜)
    Read more